Skip to content
Suomi lyhyesti

Finland in brief

Do you know these facts about Finland and the Finns?


  • Finland is a republic and a member of the European Union (EU).
  • The capital of Finland is Helsinki.
  • Finland is divided into self-governed municipalities.
  • Åland is an autonomous region of Finland.


  • Finland has 5.6 million inhabitants.
  • The national languages are Finnish and Swedish (about 5% of Finns speak Swedish as their native language).
  • There are also Sámi people in Finland. The Sámi are the only indigenous people of the European Union.
  • Many Finns speak fluent English.
  • 9% of the population speak foreign languages.

Climate and geography

  • Finland is located in Northern Europe in the Baltic Sea region.
  • Finland’s neighbouring countries are Russia (east), Norway (north), Sweden (west) and Estonia (south).
  • The surface area of Finland is 338,432 km², which includes the land and inland water areas.


  • The currency of Finland is the euro.

Information about Finland in other online sources

Local information